Slow Growing Changes

So, it seems like there has been a lot of change in my life lately. For the better, and I am so thankful. New home, new neighborhood, new school for Dilly, new job(s)….. What I am learning, too, is that things take time. Change can happen fast, but often it takes time.

There are so many things about my life that I am happy about and thankful for. I love what I do for a living, being creative and working with awesome people. My family is a gift- my husband is wonderful and our son is so much fun. It is great to watch him grow. I see the world through his eyes now, too. That is a refresher, for sure. Make the best of this time, it will soon pass. I feel glad to be spending more time with him, now that I have adjusted my work schedule- so worth it.

I know that I won’t be this age forever, but it feels like I will- right? I know why my mom says that she still feels like she is in her twenties. And I want to grab this time and enjoy it to the fullest. Free time is great- often thrifting overtakes hiking (see first image) and although I am full of intentions, I lack the drive to make changes that I know are important. I should move more and eat a few less baked goods (I said it!), but that is harder than it sounds. I envision strapping on my new Puma Cabana Racers (in light grey) and hitting the pavement, but I end up just wearing them to the store or to pick up Dillan at school. I look like I am about to do something “motional.”

And I want to be in touch more, with family and friends, to make more real connections. To separate from the “world” and resist the incredible temptation to compare your life to others (darn you Facebook & Twitter & Instagram, darn you all to heck!!!). To live in a  simpler, more intentional way. To see what the Lord’s plan is for me and those around me. So, I am going to listen to that voice, to see how I can help others, be aware and present and focus on what matters.

And I know it will take time, and I don’t want to do it alone, which is why I am sharing this here. Chances are, if you are reading this, I probably know you and hopefully we’ll get to spend more time together soon! Maybe I will get some new ribbon for my grandmother’s Royal and send more notes, with the help of her 1942 edition of Etiquette…. We will see! Slow changes, people. Oh, and if you think to, pray that we will be blessed with another child- we are ready and waiting, but like some of the most precious things, it takes time.

Comments
7 Responses to “Slow Growing Changes”
  1. Love you no matter how far apart we are or how much time goes by without speaking. You are in my heart and ALWAYS will be. Nothing could be closer.

  2. lvleong says:

    Lovin’ your blog, Emily! We think of you guys A LOT. Now we have some specifics to pray for 😉

  3. Katie says:

    I miss you, Emily, and think of you often!

  4. Kevin says:

    “So, I am going to listen to that voice, to see how I can help others, be aware and present and focus on what matters”…..reading between the line, does this mean you finally ready to start helping Manish and I make some magic at UCSD?

  5. MJ says:

    let’s go for a walk!

  6. Molly W. says:

    I hear ya friend, oh do I hear you. COME VISIT me! 🙂 I would love to have you, and soak up every second. Hugs from Waco. xoxo

Leave a Reply

