Inventory- and what’s next?

So, a couple of weeks ago I had some time to get into the studio and clear out some old clutter. Lots of it. Now that I am not printing regularly, it is time to think about what to do with all of the stuff that I have acquired over the years. Almost 10 years ago, I started my letterpress company with a lot of guts, but not much of a plan. Over time, I learned more and grew as a printer and business owner. Now, on the other side, there are things that I would do differently and things I wouldn’t change at all.

I was struck, alone in the large studio space in the back of the warehouse, that I had a strong connection to so many of the little things in the studio- the metal chase that I spent hours locking plates into, the rubber mat that kept my knees from giving up during long days at the press… Even the ink, the envelopes, the packing tape. It all takes me back to the heyday of Little Oranges, the crazy deadlines and overwhelming orders….. like it was a different life. And it was. I still remember it all clearly and love that I had the chance to pursue a dream so far.

Now I have to plan for what’s next. What to keep, what to sell? What to do with the tons of letterpress stationery that I still have on the shelves? Give it to a charity, sell it in cute bundles online, use it as collateral to fund a kickstarter campaign to get a kiln and ceramic shop started?? Not sure. Thoughts or ideas out there? Please share- I need input.

Comments
7 Responses to “Inventory- and what’s next?”
  1. Good luck on all of your artistic endeavors — of which there are many!

  2. koolimut says:

    Wow! You are downsizing and we (districtdogsdesigns.com) are just starting…we love your work!

  3. MJ says:

    Wow, kickstart a kiln/ceramic shop sounds pretty awesome! I’d go with that one ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’d happily purchase some items…

  4. Rebecca says:

    Keep having studio sales . . . my stationary gifts were a hit at Christmas time! Exciting stuff – can’t wait to hear about the next vision & adventure.

  5. Molly W. says:

    Don’t give it away!! (unless its to me of course) ๐Ÿ™‚ You can totally sell it Ems, or give it out as gifts for years to come.

Leave a Reply

